Another reason I don´t trust western medicine:

So my mom had surgery last week, I think it was thursday night. Her appendix bursted so they had to do the surgery right away, she was in so much pain. So far so good, western medicine did it's job. We went to visit her in the hospital on saturday. She was in good spirit, but in pain. But that is understandable, after all, she had had surgery two days before.

On monday I spoke to my dad. He told me that mom probably wasn't coming home before this weekend. Since the appendix broke before they had the chance to take it out, she had developed some pus (var) in her stomach. So the doctor told her she wasn't coming home before the weekend. Ok, so far so good (again).

Then, on wednesday, my dad calls me and tells me that the doctor had told my om that she could go home the same day, even tough he had just told her she couldn't go home. Now, this is where I start distrusting the bologny they call western medicine. My dad went to the hospital to pick up my mom, and they went home. It was appearent to me that they just sent her home because they did not have room for her in the hospital, not because she wasn't sick anymore. The hospital was so crowded with patients when we went ther, they had to put some of them out in the isles, there were no rooms left.

Today (friday) I get a call from my dad. He had to take my mom to the hospital last night. Her stomach had started hurting again. The examined her and apparently she has Ileus (tarmvred). It is a temporary paralysis of a portion of the intestines typically after an abdominal surgery. According to Wikipedia: "Since the intestinal content of this portion is unable to move forward, food or drink should be avoided until peristaltic sound is heard from auscultation of the area where this portion lies.".
You wold think that the doctors would be aware of this, and their main focus would be on getting the intestines to start working again, preferably in a natural way, I'm thinking light food and lots of fibres. But nooooo.
When the nurse came in to give my mom food, she served her fried potatoes and fried sausage. Don't know about the veggies, but I'm guessing there was a lack of those as well. My mom (who's still in pain) tried to explain to the nurse that she couldn't eat that, that she neede lighter food. After somewhat of a discussion, they gave her some other food.
Now, they have of course also put my om on some sort of medication as well, to get her intestines working. So to sum it up, here's what they do:

1 - My mom's intestines is partially paralyzed, can't process the food. She need to get her intestines back to work again = ahe needs light food with fibres.
2 - They serve her fried potatoes and fried sausage = HEAVVY FOOD WITH NO FIBRES AT ALL
3 - They put her on medication to get her stomach to start working again

Now, let's see. Is the medication going to help her intestines back to work after the Ileus due to the surgery, or will they just help w not making the Ileus worse due to the heavy food and lack of fibres?
WHAT THE HELL ARE THEY THINKING? Geez-Louise, you would think they get to read about this when they go through medical school....
What kind of doctor/nurse would serve a patient heavy food w no fibres, when they need to get their intestines back to work?

Im prescribing steamed veggies and olive oil, that should do it!
I

Kommentarer
Postat av: Angelica

Men vilka puckon. Jag blir så arg! Min dietist som jag hade när min mage krånglade var lika dålig hon. Sjukt att man som vanlig person vet mer om mat än en utbildad dietist eller läkare.

Hoppas Andeli mår bättre nu

2009-02-20 @ 18:29:37

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0